Home > SPORTS, WEB BUZZ > NASCAR’s Jeff Gordon wins SPRINT CUP at Pocono

NASCAR’s Jeff Gordon wins SPRINT CUP at Pocono



Jeff Gordon wins! I must admit, it’s been a few years since I have paid any attention to NASCAR. No fault of NASCAR’s, I just focused my interests elsewhere. Anyway, at that point in the game Jeff Gordon was a big up and coming player, ranked just behind Dale Earnhardt in popularity. Everyone liked Jeff because he was fast, and he took risks so he won a lot and was fun to watch. Of the little that I remember about NASCAR, Jeff and his driving is one thing I don’t think I’ll ever forget.

I remember going with my uncle up to visit Pocono Raceway. We went up there the day before the big 500 race. We wanted to see the cars up close, and we surely did. What a cool experience. I’ll never forget it. In addition to seeing the cars in all their gory detail, and also getting to shop at the driver’s personal concession trailers, I was able to take a tour of the infield and pit. Mega cool. Total VIP treatment.

We traveled by tunnel, just as the cars do, to get out to pit row. You could smell the tire rubber and feel the heat coming off the warm asphalt and the cars roared like the biggest thunderstorm there ever was. You could say the race was in the air and the drivers not only could feel it, they were wearing it in their bones. I never thought of racing from this perspective before.

Watching the cars make time trials was probably the absolute pinnacle. We made sure to grab really good seats for that. The main event. At least, the main event that afternoon. I’m not going to lie to you, we kept waiting for that one freak occurrence where a driver would speed into a turn haphazardly and lose control. No telling what to expect from a race, that’s one of the allures. I guess we had all secretly hoped that we’d get to see a crash or a multi-car pile up around one of the inside turns, preferably near our seats. Now I’m not saying that we wanted to see anyone hurt, we just wanted to see a little action. Is that too much to ask?

Anyway, I was glad to hear a familiar name won today. Not only for Jeff’s benefit, but if a modern day NASCAR superstar won, I might have never thought about this great memory today.

Helpful links on the topic

NASCAR


Pocono Race Way


Sports Illustrated


Jeff Gordon


ESPN NASCAR

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

