Home > Uncategorized > THE BEAUTY OF A COLD BEER

THE BEAUTY OF A COLD BEER


B.S.E. at the corner of Broad & Oregon, 2008 


This is what I was waiting for, an ice cold beer.  It’s about 80 degrees and I’d say it’s borderline way too humid outside.  It’s been hot all day, and now I’m hiding in the air conditioning.  Like most people I suppose.  Recuperating from June’s hot sun.  The bottle is so cold ice beads up and drips down the  neck.  The first sip is magic.  Definitely, I will enjoy this moment.  It’s one of the good ones.  These days I try to appreciate moments like this as much as possible. Tomorrow when I’m busy I’m going to remember this, I just know it.

Ahhh, what’s there to watch?The Phillies are on TV, it’s about 7:54 EDT and their song is familiar this time of night.  At least in my house.  Thank goodness they are on too because there’s been a long running drought with the networks.  It seems modern day TV, despite all it’s channels and high-defness blows more than ever.  Actually, it’s not the TV’s themselves but rather the shitty programming.  I mean who writes these shows?Regardless, I’ve got my beer and I just noticed the Rolling Stones “Sweet Virginia” is barely audible off in the distance.  Perfect. I’m gonna turn it up.

I love music.  I mean LOVE it.  I grew up listening to all sorts of music influenced by both parents and a ton of friends so my pallet is very deep.  When the music is on, everything is alright.  I play a little too.  Wish I had some drums right now.  With a nice kit, a set of headphones and the Stones, I’d be lost in my own world guaranteed.  But for now I have ice cold refreshment and some Keith Richards.  Viva la Rock and Roll.

Damn, I divert my attention from the heat of the game and now the Phillies are trailing the Dodgers by 3.  And the bat’s aren’t exactly swinging these days either.  I keep waiting for Ryan Howard to deliver with a big bomb but it’s been quite some time since that’s happened.  This game is making me think back to 2008 when they won the World Championship.  Another good thing to reflect on.  I want another parade, but it’s not up to me.  Uh-oh, last sip.  It’s time for a refill.

What’s the world coming to?


  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

